College Art Association 2018 Annual Meeting 
Los Angeles, CA 
February 21-24, 2018 


The National Council of Arts Administrators invites its members to apply to present at CAA-L.A. 2018. This session will feature a succession of fifteen-minute presentations on the following topic:

 Transforming Communities Through the Arts 

 This panel will present various strategies, case studies, and successful community partnerships that have shown the power of the arts when they extend into local communities. “Creative Placemaking” is an evolving field that connects public, private and community partners to strategically shape the social character of neighborhoods, and help transform communities physically and contribute to their social and economic vitality. We are particularly interested in identifying what students can learn by exploring the challenges and opportunities of this community-related work that includes collaboration with the arts.


  • Generate and share compelling, illuminating, and creative ways of thinking about issues in arts administration
  • Produce a session with relevance for arts administrators and a focus on current issues in higher education
  • Provoke compelling discussions that yield genuine insight 
  • Provide take-away tools, skills, and ideas, especially for new arts administrators
  • Presenters should work from the perspective of helping peer administrators become more adaptable, flexible, and better prepared for the surprises inherent in leading college and university programs


  • Each topic will be a short talk and/or visual presentation, no more than 15 minutes in length
  • Each presentation will ideally offer new insights, tools, ideas, and/or interesting perspectives
  • Please send your proposed topic title and brief presentation description—350 words or fewer—by Friday, June 30, 2017 to: Lynne Allen ( and David LaPalombara (
  • The NCAA Board will review proposals and notify applicants by Friday, August 4, 2017 

Announcing the 2016-17 New Administrator Fellows and Their Mentors


Fellow: Anne Stagg, Associate Chair, Department of Art, Florida State University 
Mentor: David LaPalombara, Director, School of Art & Design, Ohio University

Fellow: Mariah Doren, Assistant Dean of Curriculum and Learning, Parsons School of Design 
Mentor: Leslie Bellavance, President, Kendall College of Art & Design of Ferris University 

Fellow: Peter Eudenbach, Chair, Department of Art, Old Dominion University
Mentor: Cathy Pagani, Associate Dean and Assistant to the Provost, The University of Alabama

Fellow: Matthew Albritton, Department Head of Visual Arts, Northern Kentucky University 
Mentor: A. 
Blake Pearce, Dean, College of the Arts, Valdosta State University 

Fellow: Jeanette Guillemin, Director ad interim, School of Visual Arts, Boston University 
Mentor: Amy HauftLeslie Waggener Professor in Sculpture, School of Art & Art History, University of Texas at Austin 

Fellow: Troy RichardsInterim Associate Dean of the Arts, University of Delaware 
Mentor: Tom Berding, Professor of Studio Art, Michigan State University

Read more about the newest Fellows here: New Fellows!

• Waiver of 2015 conference registration and a one-year membership in NCAA;
• Being paired with a distinguished and experienced administrator/mentor at the conference;
• Submitting a brief post-conference written account of the experience to be posted at the NCAA web site;
• an opportunity to make a presentation at the 2016 NCAA Annual Conference.

Congratulations to this distinguished class of fellows--and heartfelt thanks to our mentors David, Leslie, Cathy, A. Blake, Amy, and Tom.


NCAA Board Positions: 2016/17

The Board (new members included) convened in Philadelphia on Saturday morning and elected new/continuing officers and added/reinstated committee members.

That morning's results:

Elissa Armstrong, Virginia Commonwealth University
Past President
Amy Hauft, University of Texas at Austin
Leslie Bellavance
Kendall College of Art and Design of Ferris state University
Cathy Pagani, The University of Alabama
Past Treasurer
Andrea Eis, Oakland University 

Communications Committee
Lynne Allen, Boston University
Nan Goggin, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Jeni Mokren, SUNY New Paltz

Membership Committee
A. Blake Pearce, Valdosta State University
David LaPalombara, Ohio University
Peter Chametzky, University of South Carolina 

Fellows Committee
Tom Berding, Michigan State University
Michael Fels, Elon University

Nominations Committee
Joe Poshek, Irvine Valley College
Leslie Bellavance, Kendall College of Art & Design of Ferris University 
Tom Berding, Michigan State University

Conference Committee
Lynne Allen, Boston University
David LaPalombara, Ohio University
Andrea Eis, Oakland University 


Congratulations to the Newly Elected NCAA Directors

Jeni Mokren, SUNY New Paltz

Joe Poshek, Irvine Valley College

Peter Chametzky, University of South Carolina 

Many thanks are due to the newest members of the NCAA Board of Directors. Their expertise will augment the skills brought to the table by our ongoing board members: Lynne Allen, Elissa Armstrong, Leslie Bellavance, Tom Berding, Michael Fels, Nan Goggin, (Past President) Amy Hauft, David LaPalombara, A. Blake Pearce, Joe Poshek, and Cathy Pagani. We bid a fond farewell to Steve Bliss, Cora Lynn Deibler, Andrea Eis, and Jim Hopfensperger who both served admirably! The election took place during the 44rd Annual NCAA Conference, hosted by Tyler School of Art, Temple University, Philadelphia, PA!